Eleven Quotes To Inspire You To Never Settle


Image

This past weekend, I came across a series of quotes on a website that really made me think.  People make and have built entire fortunes advising those of us who wish to succeed, how to do just that – Succeed.  I have written books on the subject – Cheque Books!  I have bought so many audio programmes (many I still have,) on the subject of succeeding.  I never felt I wasted my money buying these programmes.  The advice on each series was not bad at all and each case came from the author’s personal experience and what they did to achieve success – Failing many times in the process until they eventually succeeded in their endeavours.

Advice is never a bad thing,  Seeking it and asking for it should not be considered bad either.  I know a successful San Francisco-based Business Person who is worth millions and recalled sending them an email, asking for their advice on a certain matter – Which was whether my approach to what I was doing with regards to my acting career, writing and other business pursuits, was the correct approach.  I never received a reply.  I have to say we have exchanged email correspondences many times since then but the lesson I learnt from asking for their advice and help was:-

If someone is good at something, they don’t do it for free

If they have skills and knowledge that can get you to the next stage of your journey or get you further along the road of your journey, it will cost you.  Nothing is for free.

Always remembered the above lesson and while I have spoken to my wealthy, successful friend many times since, I have never held their non-response against them, nor taken it personally – Indeed, they are a frequent visitor to London, where I live but they never contact me when they are in town and if they do, it is via an email telling me they have been in town and are now on a plane flying out to Tokyo or some other far-flung place.

Every action or in the above case non-action tells you something – Indeed non-action and inaction speak volumes more than someone actually doing  or saying something.

The above aside, all is not lost.  There are many who are and have been successful that have offered advice based on their own experience.  Whether it is great industrialists and philanthropists like Henry Ford and Andrew Carnegie or Politicians such as Lady Margaret Thatcher or religious figures such as Buddha, good advice is out there if one is willing to go out and look for it.  The only skill one truly needs is the ‘Knowledge, Wisdom and Understanding’ to know the distinction between ‘Good Advice’ and ‘Bad Advice.  Below are Eleven Quotes from Creative and Influential People of the past and present.

Image

Whether it is taking a job or in the little decisions we make everyday at work, we are constantly tempted to settle. It is good enough. It will make other people happy. It pays well.

Here are 11 people who’ve had the courage to say no to mediocrity and YES to purpose:

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

What is your purpose in life?  What do you want to do with the rest of your life?  If Money were no object, what would you do?  These are questions we need to ask ourselves every once in a while.  The latter question is intriguing because if Money were no object, many of us would not be leading the the kind of existence we are currently leading.  I use the word ‘Leading’ because that is what many of us are doing and  not living at all.  As a people, as a species we were meant to live, rather than merely existing.  We merely exist because we choose to, simply because many of us see no other option.  I say there is one more option many of us don’t consider and that is to do things our way and create the kind of life we want to live.  We still have a choice no matter what society says.

Inspired by Aaron Hurst, CEO of Imperative

Image

Image

Leave a Reply

