It’s Not How Good I Am It’s How Good I Want To Be


IMG_0083

It’s Not How Good I Am
It’s How Good I Want To Be

On one’s journey through Life, time and time again the lesson comes up where I find myself, trying to live up to the expectations of others – Be it living up to the impossible where my mother, her partners, siblings are concerned or trying to pigeon-hole myself in order to get that job to make the rent – Whatever. The same lesson always comes up as a series of questions:-

Is this what you want do?
Is this what you really want to do?
Do you really want to do this for the rest of your life?
Are you even good enough?

The above are just a few of the questions that run through my mind as Fear begins to set in. The question are phrased differently each time, depending on how far I travelled with Fear as a Companion.

Eventually, I tell Fear to get lost and move on. The lesson I am always reminded of is:-

It’s not how good you are or think you, it’s how good you want to be.

Nearly all rich and powerful people are not notably talented,educated, charming or good looking.

They become rich and powerful by wanting to be rich and powerful.

My vision of who I am, where or who I want to be is the greatest asset I have. But without having a goal, a dream to work towards, it’s difficult to  score.

I always strive for excellence in everything I do whether it is washing dishes for living or working opposite one of Hollywood’s finest. That is who I am. I go the extra mile no matter what. That is one of the lessons experience has taught me over the years. Money is important but focus on achieving excellence and money, fame, fortune and recognition will follow.

One of those other questions that always pops into my brain, especially when I am doing a boring 9 to 5 job and always when I attend a commercial casting:-

Why strive for excellence when mediocrity is required?

There is (in my humble view,) little demand in the commercial world for excellence. There is however, a much bigger demand for mediocrity.

I am not too sure whether to be glad the world is this way but I use any advantage that comes my way. But let’s assume I like things that way.

Imagine a world with environments where every client, every employer were wonderful, one where we could produce whatever we wanted, without restrictions. A world where everybody had the freedom to produce their fantasies without the interference by tedious, boring clients.

How would one react or respond to such a scenario?

I for one would love such a world but most likely others would react against such a scenario, saying, ‘Jesus, isn’t this boring. How dull, how tedious. Let’s do it badly, make it look ugly and let’s make it cheaply.’

From my own perspective, it seems that’s the way things seem to work in the commercial world. Quality, talent, a polished product comes second to mediocrity and doing things cheaply. That is reflected in the rates of pay of performers who are not household names so have to contend with a miserly basic rate fee and an insulting buyout fee. How is a creative suppose to survive, prosper and work at developing their skills, their career?

In my own way I am rebelling against the status quo as it stands in the real world. But that is the nature of a creative person. We need something to rebel against and for me there is plenty rebel against. That is what gives one’s life excitement and it is creative people who make client’s life exciting.

So how good do I want to be?

Another one those questions that pops  into my brain? Trouble is it gets followed by, do you want to be:-

Quite good?
Good?
Very good?
The best in your field?
The best in the world?

Over the years the answer went from quite good until I learned the lesson. If you want to be anyone, anything in this world, it is to be ‘The Best in the World’. It is the only place to be.

Some talent helps. Some skill helps. Neither will take you as far as ambition. Everyone wants to be good but not many are prepared to make the sacrifices required to be the best there is.

There are many who think being nice in order to be liked is more important. There is merit in that but the art is not to confuse bring good with being liked.

Most are looking for a solution. A way to become good. Newsflash. There is no magic bullet. No instant solution. The only way to learn is through experience and mistakes.

“Show me a man who never made a mistake, and I will show you man who never tried anything,” the saying used to go and how true it is.

Most successful people have failed far more times than they have succeeded. We only ever see the success and hear about those successes. We never hear of the failures, the mistakes that were made along the way and all those great lessons they learned via those experiences.

All we see, all we concern ourselves with are the ‘Success stories’.

Irrespective of where I am in my Life Journey, I see myself as a successful person. Simply because I am taking simple steps each day order to achieve my goals.

Solomon chose Wisdom, Knowledge and Understanding when asked what he wanted of God.  We equally can have the same. We only have to ask that of ourselves.

Experience comes from being wise, knowing and understanding all that comes into your circle. Intelligence comes via using that experience to your own advantage.

The magic bullet, overnight success. No instant solution exists. The only way to learn, to succeed is via experience, mistakes and learning great lessons along the way.

Apply the above and you will become whoever you want to be.

 

Daniel Signature

Leave a Reply

